The Folklore Museum of Skopelos is the island’s timeless cultural treasure and is housed in a former mansion built in 1795. In 1971, the building was restored and designated a preserved landmark while maintaining its architecture. The structural components and decorations, both interior and exterior, remained unchanged and retained the local Skopelitian style.
In 1991, the mansion was donated to the Municipality of Skopelos by the Nikolaides family. In August 1992, the Folklore Museum of Skopelos opened its doors to the public with the aim of promoting the cultural heritage of Skopelos Island.
The visitor will have the chance to admire a wide range of rare and valuable traditional, hand-made embroideries and elaborately carved wood furniture around the house, especially in the living room, over the fireplace, and the bridal bedroom where the bride’s dowry is on display in perfect condition.
The generosity of the donors emphasizes the value of folklore and traditional art workshops. A rich collection of knives, ceramics, sculptures, paintings, handcrafted model ships, and numerous other crafts is exhibited, and bears witness to the remarkable passion and mastery of local folklore craftsman.
The underground area of the museum is also of interest; a small but important collection of agricultural and domestic tools for daily use gives us a glimpse of the practices of a long-gone time. A stunning Skopelitian dress worn by a beautiful girl carrying the Greek flag at the 1996 Olympics (Atlanta, USA), is also on display.
It should be noted that the Folklore Museum of Skopelos regularly organizes events and educational programs. The Skopelitian state of mind is investing in the local folklore that seeks to keep the past alive in the present.